Dear NABE Members,

As you know, yesterday April 19, 2022, we completed our cycle of elections. This year members in each of three regions were able to vote for their selected candidates.

We are very appreciative of the excellent candidates that ran in this election. It demonstrates the commitment of these educators to give of their time in serving this great organization.

We are also appreciative of the 851 voting members who, through their vote, participate in the governance of NABE. Thank you.

The NABE Annual election results have been tabulated and three new members will join the NABE Executive Board members. We congratulate the new members and give them our support. 

The Easter Region has selected Evelyn DeJesus, Executive Vice President of The American Federation of Teachers. Evelyn is a fierce advocate of bilingual education. She has been in the field of education for many years serving as a public-school teacher for 10 years and in numerous roles of leadership and advocacy at the local, state and national level.

The Central Region has selected Dr. Belinda Trevino Schouten, Full Professor, Coordinator of Bilingual and ESL Education at Our Lady University, TX. Belinda has been active in the field of bilingual education for close to 30 years. She has coordinated teacher preparation programs at both the university and district level.

The Western Region has reelected Dr. Cristina Alfaro, Associate Vice President of International Affairs at San Diego State University. Cristina is nationally and internationally recognized as a researcher in the area of multilingual and social justice education. She was awarded this year the Innovation Leadership Award by CABE.

Congratulations to these great new Executive Board members. May their service be filled with joy and success. Our entire organization is at your service.

We would like to see the new Board continue the great work of Dr. Myrna Rosado Rasmussen with the NABE affiliates. She has been able to engage them and we hope their engagement continues. The strength of NABE lies with its membership and great affiliates.

Personally, I want to thank all of you for your contributions to NABE. It has been an honor to serve as your president, and you have my pledge to continue to advocate for our students, parents and educators.


Margarita P. Pinkos, Ed.D.

NABE President