Special Interest Groups

Here at NABE we dedicate ourselves to our members
     We advocate to SOLVE bilingual issues that most concern you!

 

Sign up to follow your favorite NABE Special Interest Groups.

NABE Special Interest Groups

Asian & Pacific Islanders SIG
Shu-Yuan Lin, Chair
Idaho State University
921 S. 8th Ave., Stop 8059
Pocatello, ID 83209
Phone: (208) 282-3185
Email: linshu@isu.edu
Rosa Salas Palomo, Co-Chair
Micronesian Language Institute
University of Guam
P.O. Box 909, Hagatna, Guam 96932
Phones: (671) 734-3870 or (671) 735-2193 or (671) 727-5522
Email: kailee.rosapalomo@gmail.com

Bilingual Education Student Organization (BESO)
Margarita Machado-Casas, Chair
San Diego State University
Email: mmachadocasas@sdsu.edu
Belinda Treviño Schouten, Co-Chair
Education Department
Our Lady of the Lake University
411 SW 24th Street, San Antonio, TX 78207
Phone: (210) 434-6711 x2473
Btschouten@ollusa.edu

Dual Language Immersion
Blanca Guerra, Chair
Broward County Public Schools
600 SE Third Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: (754) 321-2451
Email: blanca.guerra@browardschools.com
Idalina Orta, Co-Chair
Broward County Public Schools
Email:Idalina.orta@browardschools.com
Lisa Capra, Co-Chair
Palm Beach Schools
Lisa.capra@palmbeachschools.org

Dual Language in Higher Education
Sonia Soltero, Chair
DePaul University
2247 North Halsted, Office 347
Chicago, IL 60614
Phone: 773-325-4788
Email: ssoltero@depaul.edu

Early Childhood Education
Karen Nemeth, Chair
Language Castle, LLC.
940 N. 33rd Street, Allentown, PA 18104
Phone: (973) 699-8734
Email: karen@languagecastle.com

Elementary Education
Doris Luft Baker, Chair
Phone: (512)- 471-4161
Email: doris.baker@austin.utexas.edu
Paul Polanco, Co-Chair
University of Texas at Arlington
Email: paul.polanco@uta.edu

EL Newcomers/Refugees
Nancy Warren, Chair
Department of Teaching and Learning
Southern Methodist University
Dallas, Texas
Phone: (972) 984-0461
Email: nmontgomerywarren@smu.edu

EL Secondary Education
Jobi Lawrence, Chair
KCR2 Educational Consulting
Phone: (319)471-1833
Email: jobikcr2@gmail.com

ESL and Bilingual Education
Ricardo González- Carriedo,
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle #310740, Denton, TX 76203
Phone: (940) 497-5254
Email: Ricardo.gonzalez@unt.edu
Rossana Boyd, Co-Chair
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle# 310740, Denton, TX 76203
Phones: (940) 391-4800 or (940) 565-2933
Email: rossana.boyd@unt.edu

Gifted & Talented Bilingual Education
Nilda M. Aguirre, Chair
Kreative-Kids Corporation
PO Box 1569, Albany, LA 70711
Phone: (225) 773-2098
Email: nma226@gmail.com
Marcy Voss, Co-chair
Educational Consultant
Kerrville, TX
830-456-7101
vossm57@gmail.com

Indigenous Bilingual Education
Florian Tom Johnson, Chair
Rock Point Community School
K12 Culture Specialist
P.O. Box 560 , Rock Point, AZ 86545
Phone: (928) 659-4221 x110
Fax: (928) 659-4235
Email: Florian.Johnson@rpcsaz.org
Louise Lockard, Co-Chair
Northern Arizona University COE:
Educational Specialties
801 S Knoles Dr. Building 27, Flagstaff AZ 86011
Phone: (928) 523-8218
Email: louise.lockard@nau.edu

Instructional Technology
Currently accepting nominations, contact:
Info@nabe.org

Paraprofessional Educators
Currently accepting nominations, contact:
info@nabe.org

Parent and Community Engagement
Carla Amaro-Jiménez, Chair
The University of Texas – Arlington
502 Yates St. Science Hall, Rm. 322P Box 19777, Arlington, TX 76019
Phone: (817) 272-3346
Email: amaro@uta.edu
Olga M. Hickman, Co-Chair
Executive Director
Bachman Lake Together
Phone: (956) 212-3550
Email: mtzolga@gmail.com

Policy Makers
Jessica Salazar, Chair
Education Equity Coordinator
Metropolitan State University of Denver
Email: ggarci77@msudenver.edu
Viviana Hall, Co-Chair
Dallas, TX
Phone: (214) 768-1522
Email: vividallas1@yahoo.com
Ruth Martin, Co-Chair
Bilingual/ESL Coordinator
Castleberry ISD
Phone: (817) 913-9230
Email: martinrl@castleberry.isd.net

Research and Evaluation SIG & Institute
Dr. Miriam Ebsworth, Coordinator
Email: Miriam.ebsworth@nyu.edu
Dr. Min Wang Chair
Professor at St. John University
Email: wandm@stjohns.edu
Dr. Jaqueline Romano Co-Chair
California State University, San Bernadino, CA
Email: Jaqueline.romano@csusb.edu
Phone: (909) 537-4302
Ryan Pontier Co-Chair
Florida International University, Miami, Fl
Phone: (305) 348-3393
Email: rpontier@fiu.edu

Special Education
Liliana Salazar, Chair
Academica, Miami, Fl
Phone: (305) 669-2906
Email: Lsalazar@academica.org

STEM+ Dual Language Learners
Arnhilda Badia, Chair
Badia and Associates
1118 South Greenway Dr., Miami, FL 33134
Email: arnhilda@att.net

World Languages and Cultures
Blanca Guerra, Chair
Broward County Public Schools
600 SE Third Avenue, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: (754) 321-2451
Email: blanca.guerra@browardschools.com