Special Interest Groups

Here at NABE we dedicate ourselves to our members
     We advocate to SOLVE bilingual issues that most concern you!


Sign up to follow your favorite NABE Special Interest Groups.

NABE Special Interest Groups

Asian & Pacific Islanders SIG
Rosa Salas Palomo, Chair
Micronesian Language Institute
University of Guam
P.O. Box 909, Hagatna, Guam 96932
Phones: (671) 734-3870 or (671) 735-2193 or (671) 727-5522
Email: kailee.rosapalomo@gmail.com
Edward Park, Co-Chair
Director of Global Languages and Innovative Programs,
Poway Unified School District
Phone: (858) 521.2800 Ext. 2884
Holly Shum, Co-Chair
Multilingual PD Team Lead, Houston ISD
Phone: (559) 630-0731

Bilingual Education Student Organization (BESO)
Dr. Margarita Machado-Casas, Chair
San Diego State University
Email: mmachadocasas@sdsu.edu
Dr. Belinda Treviño Schouten, Co-Chair
Education Department
Our Lady of the Lake University
411 SW 24th Street, San Antonio, TX 78207
Phone: (210) 434-6711 x2473

Dual Language Immersion
Idalina Orta, Chair
Broward County Public Schools

Dual Language in Higher Education
Currently accepting nominations, contact:

Early Childhood Education
Dr. Anita Pandey, Chair
Morgan State University
Email: anita.pandey@morgan.edu

Elementary Education
Dr. Abril Gonzalez, Chair
Email: abrilgon@austin.utexas.edu
Holland Kowalkowski, Co-Chair
Email: hollandbriggs@utexas.edu

EL Newcomers/Refugees
Currently accepting nominations, contact:

EL Secondary Education
Dr. Jobi Lawrence, Chair
KCR2 Educational Consulting
Phone: (319)471-1833
Email: jobikcr2@gmail.com

ESL and Bilingual Education
Dr. Ricardo González- Carriedo, Chair
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle #310740, Denton, TX 76203
Phone: (940) 497-5254
Email: Ricardo.gonzalez@unt.edu
Dr. Rossana Boyd, Co-Chair
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle# 310740, Denton, TX 76203
Phones: (940) 391-4800 or (940) 565-2933
Email: rossana.boyd@unt.edu

Gifted & Talented Bilingual Education
Marcy Voss, Chair
Educational Consultant
Kerrville, TX
Nilda M. Aguirre, Co-Chair
Kreative-Kids Corporation
PO Box 1569, Albany, LA 70711
Phone: (225) 773-2098
Email: nma226@gmail.com

Indigenous Bilingual Education
Cheryl Anderson, Co-Chair
Email: cheryl@mcac-cpa.com
Wilphina Becenti, Co-Chair
Email: wilphina.becenti@littlesinger.org
Terry Curley, Co-Chair
Email: tcurley@kinlanidorm.org

Instructional Technology
Currently accepting nominations, contact:

Paraprofessional Educators
Currently accepting nominations, contact:

Parent and Community Engagement
Dr. Carla Amaro-Jiménez, Chair
The University of Texas – Arlington
502 Yates St. Science Hall, Rm. 322P Box 19777, Arlington, TX 76019
Phone: (817) 272-3346
Email: amaro@uta.edu
Dr. Olga M. Hickman, Co-Chair
Executive Director
Bachman Lake Together
Phone: (956) 212-3550
Email: mtzolga@gmail.com

Policy Makers
Dr. Georgina Y. García, Chair
Education Equity Coordinator
Metropolitan State University of Denver
Email: ggarci77@msudenver.edu
Viviana Hall, Co-Chair
Dallas, TX
Phone: (214) 768-1522
Email: vividallas1@yahoo.com
Ruth Martin, Co-Chair
Bilingual/ESL Coordinator
Castleberry ISD
Phone: (817) 913-9230
Email: martinrl@castleberry.isd.net

Research and Evaluation SIG & Institute
Dr. Fernando Naiditch, Chair
Montclair State University
Email: naiditchf@mail.montclair.edu
Dr. Jaqueline Romano, Co-Chair
California State University, San Bernadino, CA
Email: Jaqueline.romano@csusb.edu
Dr. Sandra Musanti, Advisory Board Chair
Email: sandra.musanti@utrgv.edu
Dr. Miriam Ebsworth, Institute Coordinator
Email: Miriam.ebsworth@nyu.edu

Special Education
Liliana Salazar, Chair
Academica, Miami, Fl
Phone: (305) 669-2906
Email: Lsalazar@academica.org

STEM+ Dual Language Learners
Currently accepting nominations, contact:

World Languages and Cultures
Currently accepting nominations, contact: