Special Interest Groups


Here at NABE we dedicate ourselves to our members 
     We advocate to SOLVE bilingual issues that most concern you!
NABE members have organized more than 20 special interest groups, covering all levels of schooling: early childhood, elementary, secondary, and higher education. Some focus on roles within the profession: teacher, paraprofessional, parent, research and evaluation, and policy makers. Other SIGs are devoted to the education of special populations or interests, such as Asian/Pacific Americans, gifted and talented, instructional technology, teachers as researchers, Native American bilingual education, special education, and world languages and cultures.
 Any group of 25 NABE members may petition the NABE Executive Board for authorization to form a SIG. Once approved, SIGs are given certain responsibilities and benefits. Among the responsibilities are organizing an academic session (either a half-day or full-day Institute) and a Business Meeting during NABE’s annual conference. In addition, the SIG Chair is invited to report to the NABE Board on important trends and issues that concern the SIG, as well as resolutions for action. SIGs are also encouraged to submit articles for the NABE News and other NABE publications.

Asian & Pacific Islanders SIG   

Shu-Yuan Lin, Chair
Idaho State University
921 S. 8th Ave., Stop 8059
Pocatello, ID  83209
Phone: (208) 283-3185
linshu@isu.edu

Rosa Salas Palomo, Co-Chair
Micronesian Language Institute
University of Guam
P.O. Box 909
Hagatna, Guam 96932
Phones: (671) 734-3870
or (671) 735-2193
or (671) 727-5522
kailee.rosapalomo@gmail.com

Bilingual Education
Student Organization (BESO)

Margarita Machado-Casas, Chair
University of Texas-San Antonio
One UTSA Circle
San Antonio, TX 78249
Phone: (210) 458-5571
margarita.machadocasas@utsa.edu

Belinda Treviño Schouten, Co-Chair
Our Lady of the Lake University
Education Department
411 SW 24th Street
San Antonio, TX 78207
Phone: (210) 434-6711 ext. 2473

Critical Pedagogy

Rosario Díaz Greenberg, Chair
California State University San Marcos
2250 N Broadway 87
Escondido, CA 92026
Phones: (760) 750-4309

or (760) 480-1963
rgreen@csusm.edu

Mario Castañeda, Co-Chair
California State University Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA  90032
Phone: (310) 488-5220
professor.castaneda@gmail.com    

 

Dual Language Immersion

Blanca GuerraChair
Broward County Public Schools
600 SE Third Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: (754) 321-2451
blanca.guerra@browardschools.com

Leyda Sotolongo, Co-Chair
Broward County Public Schools
600 SE Third Avenue
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301
Phone: (754) 321-2451
Leyda.sotolongo@browardschools.com

Dual Language in Higher Education                

Tomasita Ortiz, Chair
Ana G. Méndez University System
5575 south Semoran Blvd, Ste. 505
Orlando, FL, 32822
Phone: (407) 592-1127
toortiz@suagm.edu


Arnhilda Badia, Co-Chair
Badia and Associates
1118 South Greenway Dr.
Miami, FL 33134
arnhilda@att.net

Early Childhood Education
Karen Nemeth,
 Chair
Language Castle, LLC.
126 Cambridge Ln.
Newtown, PA 18940
Phone: (973) 699-8734
karen@languagecastle.com

Clara Cappiello, Co-Chair
East Coast Migrant Head Start
1111 SE Federal Highway, Suite 226,
Stuart, FL 34994
Phone: (772) 781-2334 Ext. 21
cappiello@ecmhsp.org    

Elementary Education
Doris Luft Baker,
 Chair
2656 Hendricks Ridge
Eugene, OR  97403
Phone: (541) 747-2925
dbaker@uoregon.edu     

EL Newcomers/Refugees

Nancy Montgomery, Chair
Department of Teaching and Learning
Associate Clinical Professor of ESL
Southern Methodist University
Dallas, Texas
nmontgomery@mail.smu.edu

EL Secondary Education

Jobi Lawrence, Chair
Iowa Department of Education
400 E. 14 Street
Des Moines, IA 50319
Phone: (515) 281-3805
Jobi.lawrence@iowa.gov

ESL and Bilingual Education
Ricardo González-Carriedo,
 Chair
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle #310740
Denton, TX 76203
Phone: (940) 497-5254
Ricardo.gonzalez@unt.edu

Rossana Boyd, Co-Chair
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle# 310740
Denton, TX  76203
Phones: (940) 391-4800
or (940) 565-2933
rossana.boyd@unt.edu

Eliana Rojas, Co-chair
University of Connecticut
249 Glenbrook Road Unit 3033,
Storrs, CT 06269-3033
Phone; (860) 429-6565
Eliana.rojas@uconn.edu 

 

Gifted Education
Nilda M. AguirreChair 
Kreative-Kids Corporation
PO Box 1569
Albany, LA 70711
Phone: (225) 209-0224
nma226@gmail.com 

Elsa M. AndersonCo-Chair
Texas Wesleyan University
Dan Waggoner Hall 303
1201 Wesleyan Street
Fort Worth, TX 76105
Phone: (817) 531-4946
emanderson@txwes.edu

Indigenous Bilingual Education
Florian Tom Johnson
Chair
Rock Point Community School
Navajo Curriculum & Technology
P.O. Box 560
Rock Point, AZ 86545
Phone: (928) 728-3786
Fax: (928) 728-3576
Florian.Johnson@rpcsaz.org

Louise LockardCo-Chair
Northern Arizona University
COE: Educational Specialties
801 S Knoles Dr. Building 27
Flagstaff AZ 86011                     
Phone: (928) 523-8218 
louise.lockard@nau.edu

Instructional Technology
Eurvine Williams
Chair
Pacific University
UC Box A130
2043 College Way
Forest Grove, OR 97116
Phone: (503) 352-1460
euwillia@pacificu.edu

Para Educators

Currently accepting nominations, contact:
Margarita P. Pinkos
NABE VP
3388 Forest Hill Boulevard, Suite A-204
West Palm Beach, FL 33406
Phone: (561) 434-8010
margarita.pinkos@palmbeachschools.org    

 

Parent and Community
Carla Amaro-Jiménez, Chair
The University of Texas – Arlington
502 Yates St. Science Hall, Rm. 322P
Box 19777,  Arlington, TX  76019
Phone: (817) 272-3346
amaro@uta.edu

Olga Martínez Hickman, Co-Chair
5605 Odessa Ave.
Fort Worth, TX 76133
mtzolga@gmail.com

Policy Makers
Jessica Salazar, Chair
Eagle Mountain-Saginaw ISD
616 W. Mcleroy Blvd
Saginaw, Texas 76131
Phone: (817) 658-7139
jsalazar@ems-isd.net

Viviana Hall, Co-Chair
2914 Starboard 20
Rockwall, TX 75087
Phone: (214) 768-1522
vividallas1@yahoo.com

Research and Evaluation

Dr. Heather Woodley, Chair  
New York University, Steinhardt School
239 Greene Street, 318
New York, NY 10003
Phone: (917) 816-8715
hwoodley@nyu.edu 

Seal of Biliteracy
Nivia Gallardo,
Chair
Corona-Norco Unified School District
2820 Clark Ave
Norco, CA 92860
Phone: (951) 736-5085
ngallardo@cnusd.k12.ca.us

Arthur Chou
Velazquez Press
9682 Telstar Ave. Suite 110
El Monte, CA 91731
Phone: (626) 448-3448
achou@academiclearningcompany.com

Special Education
Amy Mazur,
 Chair
George Washington University
2134 G St. NW RM 416
Washington, DC 20052
Phone: (202) 994-1511
amazur@gwu.edu

World Languages and Cultures
Mariella Herold, Chair
Northern Arizona University
PO Box 5774
Flagstaff, AZ 86011
Phones: (928) 523-7141
or (520) 235-8755
or (480) 897-2473
Mariella.herold@nau.edu